BITS WILP 2027: A Beginner’s Guide to Programmes, Fees, Validity and Admission
Research partner: College Vidya | Data sources: BITS WILP, BITS UGC approval page, BITS programme list
BITS WILP (Work Integrated Learning Programmes) lets working professionals earn a BITS Pilani degree or diploma while staying in their job. You study in the evenings and on weekends, and your own workplace becomes part of the learning.
BITS Pilani started WILP in 1979 and was the first university in India to offer it, which gives the programme a 46-year track record. Today the official site lists 51,000+ active learners, a 1,50,000+ strong alumni network, 130+ corporate partners, 540+ MoUs, and 1,100+ faculty and industry experts, with learners in 32 countries.
BITS WILP now has 51 programmes across five categories: 8 B.Tech, 20 M.Tech, 9 MBA, 1 M.Sc and 13 PG diploma and certificate programmes.
Pro tip: If you are a working professional considering WILP or an online degree, book your 1:1 free counselling session to clear all your doubts.
Is BITS WILP valid?
Yes. BITS publishes UGC’s approval on its own site: at its 548th meeting on 9 September 2020, the University Grants Commission (UGC) approved the continued offering of BITS WILP.
BITS Pilani is also a UGC-recognised Institution of Eminence (IoE) deemed university, so the degree is awarded by BITS Pilani itself, not by a franchise partner.
Before you pay, read the UGC approval page yourself and ask the admissions team for the latest letter. Approvals are reviewed from time to time.
Learning format and how exams are conducted
Learning mixes live online classes, recorded sessions, handouts and lab content on BITS’s learning platform, with a BITS faculty member and an industry mentor guiding you. Learners also get the chance to visit the BITS Pilani campus for lab visits and peer and faculty interaction.
Exams are of two types:
- Continuous assessment: quizzes, lab assignments and similar work, taken virtually on the learning platform.
- Comprehensive exams: a mid-semester and an end-semester exam per course, held in person on weekends at BITS-designated centres.
The centre list is long: it covers Indian cities in the East, West, Central, North and South zones (Mumbai, Pune, Delhi NCR, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and many more), plus overseas centres such as Dubai, Singapore and Riyadh. Learners elsewhere abroad may apply for online exams, subject to BITS’s requirements. BITS may move you to an alternate centre if a city’s centre does not run, so check the exam centre page for your city.
Admission process
Applications are made online, and the admissions cell usually responds within 2-3 weeks.
- Register or log in on the application portal and fill in your details.
- Pay the application fee and update your mentor and employer information.
- Submit the application with all required documents.
- Wait for the admission decision by email or on the portal.
- Once admission is offered, pay the admission fee and first-semester fee.
You need to be currently employed, and your mentor and employer consent is part of the application. If you cannot get a physical signature, BITS accepts an email approval from your HR’s official ID in its sample format.
Current intake: admissions are open for the January 2027 batch for the MBA programmes, most M.Tech programmes, and several B.Tech and PG diploma programmes. Programmes marked “Admissions open soon” on the site have no intake date yet. A few programme pages still show an October 2026 batch with a 15 October deadline, which has passed.
Programmes offered
The table gives the range across all 51 programmes, checked against each programme’s own page. Fees are the totals the site shows, including the one-time INR 1,500 application fee and INR 18,500 admission fee (the PG certificates list a total with the application fee only). Eligibility always needs a current job and at least 60% marks, and the exact degree and experience rules vary by specialization.
| Degree | Specializations | Eligibility | Duration | Total fee (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech | 8 | Technical diploma or B.Sc. with maths (Civil & Infrastructure needs a technical diploma), 60%+, currently employed. Experience: 6 months (Engineering Technology, Process, AI & ML, Smart Manufacturing, Power), 1 year (Electronics), 2 years (Civil & Infrastructure, Engineering Design) | 7 semesters | 5,21,900 to 5,34,500 |
| M.Tech | 20 | B.E./B.Tech, M.Sc or MCA in a relevant discipline, 60%+, currently employed with 1+ year of experience (Software & Tech Leadership needs 15+ years) | 4 semesters | 3,12,400 to 3,34,400 for 19 programmes; 5,20,000 for Software & Tech Leadership |
| MBA | 9 | Integrated first degree, B.E./M.Sc, a relevant 3-year degree, or CA/CS/CWA/CMA/CPA; 60%+; currently employed with 1+ year of experience (2 years after a 3-year degree in some programmes) | 4 semesters (MBA in Finance: 5) | 3,12,400 for 8 programmes; 3,85,500 for MBA in Finance |
| M.Sc | 1 (Business Analytics) | B.E./B.Tech/M.Sc or a relevant 3-year degree, 60%+; 1 year (2 years after a 3-year degree) of experience | 4 semesters | 3,12,400 |
| PG Diploma and Certificate | 13 (11 diplomas, 2 certificates) | Mostly B.E./B.Tech/M.Sc, a relevant 3-year degree, or CA/CS/CWA/CMA/CPA, 60%+; 1 year of experience (2 years after a 3-year degree); 6 months for Automotive Cybersecurity and the AI & ML certificate | 2 semesters (diplomas); 11 months (certificates) | 1,65,200 for diplomas; 2,45,000 for certificates |
Deeper reads: Online B.Tech for working professionals (WILP) and Online MBA for working professionals.
Honest reviews: what BITS WILP students say
These points summarise what students say on Reddit and in one Medium post, mostly about the M.Tech. They are individual experiences, not a representative survey, so read them as perspectives and not as a verdict. For more discussion, see Search: BITS WILP reviews on Reddit.
Overall value
- Many see the degree as legitimate. One student calls it worth it from a degree standpoint and on par with an on-campus degree.
- The resume impact is limited, and skills matter more. Another says recruiters may still see it as “distance” and mostly care about skills, projects and experience.
- It can help your career if you use it well. One student says it was heavy to manage with work, but their pay rose from 4 to 9 LPA afterwards.
- It is not a correspondence course, says one M.Tech AI/ML student. In a Medium post, the author says the degree certificate does not mention distance education and is treated like a regular M.Tech. Check this on a sample certificate or with BITS before relying on it.
- There is no campus-style placement support. The same author accepts this and says your skills, job experience and the BITS credential are what you take to recruiters.
Teaching, curriculum and practicality
- Teaching quality varies, and many say it falls short. One student says instructors read slides and rush through the syllabus.
- The curriculum can feel theoretical or dated. A student found the data science content theoretical and a bit behind current applications.
- Some found industry-relevant subjects and useful labs. One says they used what they learned at work.
- Exams may not match what you learn at work. One student says the exams are tough and tied closely to lectures, and that much of the content was not very useful at their workplace.
- Faculty quality can change from semester to semester. The Medium author found pure maths in semester 1 hard to follow, but felt the core AI/ML teaching improved from semester 2. They add that you can follow another professor’s lectures, since all sections share the same syllabus, and that faculty include both researchers and industry professionals.
Workload, exams and life balance
- Heavy weekends are a common warning. One student describes weekly assignments, exams every two months and no free weekends.
- Exams are strict. A student reports being debarred for unfair means in an exam, so follow the exam rules closely.
- Failing a subject can cost you again. One student says you pay the full semester fee again if you fail a subject. Check BITS’s current policy before relying on this.
- Missed deadlines can mean re-registering. The same student says missing an assignment, quiz or exam usually means you re-register for the course, and quizzes can arrive by university email with only a 24-hour window.
- Family responsibilities make it harder. They add that the load is tougher if you are married or have kids. Another student who just finished the first semester agreed.
- Your time commitment decides how much you get out of it. The Medium author says most live sessions and webinars run in the evenings, around 7 to 9 PM, and that assignments are demanding if you solve them yourself. They admit falling behind peers who managed their time better.
Who might benefit
- Employer-sponsored learners and people who need a degree without quitting. One student, sponsored by their employer, calls it a win-win.
- Not ideal if you want hands-on, up-to-date practical training. One student advises it mainly if you want the degree itself.
- Better for those who commit time and self-learn. Another says it only helps if you put in effort beyond attending classes.
- Easier when you are younger. One commenter suggests going for it while young, but says burnout is real and it may be harder at 30+ with other responsibilities.
- Check sponsorship terms before signing. If your company sponsors the programme, one commenter warns of 2 to 4 year service bonds and calls the whole arrangement a scam. That is one person’s opinion, but read your bond terms closely.
The overall picture: Redditors report that the degree is formally valid and can help when paired with real project work, but expect heavy weekends, variable teaching quality, some outdated topics and strict exam rules. If your employer sponsors it, or you want a recognised M.Tech while keeping your job, many find it worth the strain. If you want cutting-edge hands-on learning, consider alternatives or plan to self-study.
Communities for further discussion: r/BITSWilp.
Alternatives to BITS WILP
Other universities run programmes for working professionals, but few match BITS’s mix of live classes, in-person exams and a UGC-approved degree in engineering and management. Details below are as stated on each institution’s own programme page and can change, so check the latest on the official site before you compare.
B.Tech
Each university name links to its own programme page. Details are as stated on those pages, including their approval claims, so verify UGC and AICTE status with the regulators before applying. This list is not exhaustive: no official register of working-professional B.Tech programmes exists, so we built it from our earlier article plus searches and third-party listings, then checked each entry on the university’s site.
| University | Branches | Duration | Eligibility | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Galgotias University | Computer Science (page shown) | 3 years | Diploma or B.Sc. (maths in 10+2) with 60%; 1 year of full-time work | Weekends only (Saturday and Sunday) |
| Sanskriti University | CSE, Civil, Electrical, ECE, Mechanical | 3 years (6 semesters, lateral entry) | Relevant 3-year diploma; 1 year of work experience | Evenings, weekends and holidays in flexible shifts; page shows admissions closed |
| Symbiosis Skills & Professional University, Pune | Automobile Engineering (also Advanced Mechatronics & Industrial Automation per a press release) | 3 years (6 semesters) | Diploma or B.Sc. with 45%; must be employed, no minimum years stated | Weekend and evening schedule with online sessions |
| Graphic Era University | Mechanical (page shown); ECE and Civil pages also exist | 3 years | Aimed at diploma holders with industry experience | Evening 6PM-10PM classes on weekdays and full day on Saturday |
| IEC University, HP | CSE, Mechanical, Civil, Electrical, Electronics | 3 years (6 semesters) | Diploma with 45% | Weekends and evenings, live and recorded; page shows admissions closed for July 2026 |
| Mangalayatan University | Civil, CSE (plus AI & ML, Cyber Security, Data Science), Electrical, ECE, Mechanical | 3 years | Diploma with 45%; no minimum experience stated | Evenings and weekends, hybrid; labs on Saturdays |
| Delhi Technological University (govt.) | Civil, Electrical, ECE, Mechanical | 4 years | Relevant 3-year diploma with 60% (General; 50 to 60% for reserved categories); 2+ years of work experience with an employer in Delhi or within 75 km of DTU; employer NOC; merit on diploma marks, no entrance exam | Evening classes, 6 days a week, 6 pm to 9 pm; INR 1,56,700 in year 1 (about INR 6.3 lakh over four years) |
| Gurukul Kangri (Deemed to be University) | CSE | 3 years (6 semesters) | 3-year diploma or B.Sc.; 1 year of work; the page says male candidates only | Hybrid, weekends; fee about INR 1.25 lakh a year |
| Usha Martin University | Mechanical, Civil, Electrical, Mining | 3 to 4 years, as listed | Diploma or B.Sc. with 45% | Online, weekends or after business hours; INR 40,000 a semester |
| HRIT University | CSE, Mechanical, Civil, ECE | 3 years (6 semesters) | 3-year diploma or B.Sc. with 45% | Weekends, evenings or online |
| Sikkim Alpine University | Civil (page shown) | 3.5 years (6+1 semesters) | Relevant diploma; 2 years of full-time work | Hybrid, evenings and weekends; Saturday labs |
| Kalinga University, Naya Raipur | Civil, Electrical, Mechanical | 3 years (6 semesters, direct entry into the 2nd year) | Polytechnic diploma with 45% (40% for SC, ST and OBC), or B.Sc. with maths in Class 12; 1 year of work experience with a certificate or employer NOC | Blended: online sessions on weekends, evenings and holidays, plus recorded lectures; the page is inconsistent on whether labs are virtual or on campus; INR 50,000 a semester plus INR 1,500 exam fee; page shows an admissions-closed banner |
A note on DTU: Delhi Technological University runs a regular four-year evening B.Tech for working professionals, with classes six days a week from 6 pm to 9 pm. It is not a classic WILP programme.
To understand how WILP B.Tech works and how to choose between these options, read our guide to Online B.Tech for working professionals (WILP).
M.Tech
| Institute | Programmes | Duration | Eligibility | Format and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Madras | Web-Enabled M.Tech: Aerospace (incl. Ammunition Technology), AI, CSE (Information Security), Electrical (5 specializations), E-Mobility, Mechanical (Design, Automotive), Process Safety | Not stated in the brochure | Relevant degree and 2+ years of work experience; entrance exam; employer MoU or letter of support for the project | Live classes in the evenings (4 to 7 pm) or recordings with weekend live sessions; exams online or at centres; PG Diploma exit option; fees not stated |
| IIT Kanpur | M.Tech (Online): Microelectronics & VLSI, RF Engineering, Wireless Networks & ML, AI & ML, Construction Engineering & Project Management, Smart Grid, Sustainable Energy | 2 to 4 years | CPI above 5.5; GATE/JAM score or IITK online entrance test; departments may add experience requirements | Weekend classes; ~ INR 9.4L fee |
| IIT Guwahati: Robotics and AI | M.Tech in Robotics and Artificial Intelligence | 2 to 5 years (6 to 15 trimesters) | Relevant degree with 60%; no work experience required | Hybrid: recorded lectures plus weekly live sessions; offline exams at centres in India; INR 8,00,000 in total; January 2027 batch, apply by 11 November 2026 |
| IIT Guwahati: Flood and Water Resources | M.Tech in Flood and Water Resources Management | 2 to 5 years (6 to 15 trimesters) | Civil or agricultural engineering degree with 60%; 1+ year in the water resources sector | Online and mostly asynchronous; final exams on campus; INR 8,00,000 in total |
| IIT Roorkee | M.Tech (VLSI) for Industry Professionals | 3 years (2 years coursework, 1 year thesis) | Experience rules not stated on the page | Live remote classes on weekends or after hours, plus a campus contact programme each semester at Greater Noida; INR 6.5 lakh in total |
| IIT Hyderabad | Online M.Tech: Data Science, Computational Mechanics, EV Technology, Integrated Computational Materials Engineering, Industrial Metallurgy, Heritage Science & Technology | Not stated on the page | Per a press release, BE/B.Tech with 2 years of industry experience for the working-professional M.Tech | Online; fees in each programme’s brochure |
| IIT Patna | M.Tech (AI & Data Science Engineering and CSE) | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Details not published on the page |
| IIT Jammu | Executive M.Tech in GenAI and Data Science (a VLSI Design executive M.Tech also exists) | 24 months (4 semesters) | 2+ years of full-time experience | Live online; campus immersion mandatory in year 1; INR 4,49,000 in total |
| IIT Jodhpur | PG Diploma then Executive M.Tech in Data Engineering and Agentic AI | 12 months for the diploma, then year 2 for the M.Tech | Not stated on the page | Live online; 5 to 7 days on campus each year; INR 3,35,000 for the diploma plus INR 2,40,000 for year 2, plus processing and administrative fees |
| IISc Bengaluru | M.Tech (Online): AI, Data Science & Business Analytics, ECE | 2 to 3 years | B.E. / B.Tech / M.E. / M.Sc / MCA / MBA in a relevant field and 2 years of industry experience; employer-sponsored only | Live online evenings and weekends; INR 8.8 to 10 lakh in total |
| IIIT Guwahati | M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering (Online) | Not stated | Open to working and non-working candidates; no experience requirement listed | Live-streamed lectures, proctored online exams; fees depend on credits taken |
| Lingayas Vidyapeeth | CSE, ECE, Mechanical, Civil | 2 years (4 semesters) | Page says no work experience needed | Weekends and holidays; INR 60,000 a semester |
| Shri Venkateshwara University | CSE, Civil (Highway, Environmental, Structural), VLSI, Electrical Power Systems, Mechanical | 2 years (4 semesters) | B.E./B.Tech and 2 years of full-time work | Hybrid, evenings and weekends; INR 36,000 a semester plus INR 2,500 exam fee (the page also shows INR 38,500) |
| Mangalayatan University | Civil, CSE (AI & ML, Cloud, Data Science, Cyber Security), Electrical, Electronics, Mechanical | 2 years | Not stated on the page | Evenings, weekends and recorded lectures; INR 36,000 a semester plus INR 1,000 exam fee |
| IEC University, HP | Mechanical (page shown); CSE, Electrical and Civil also listed | 2 years (4 semesters) | B.E./B.Tech with 50%; no experience requirement stated | Evening classes; INR 40,000 a semester; page shows admissions closed for July 2026 |
| Sanskriti University | CSE, Structural, Environmental, Mechanical, Power Systems | 2 years (4 semesters) | B.E./B.Tech/MCA/M.Sc and 1 year of work | Evenings, weekends and holidays; page shows admissions closed |
| HRIT University | CSE, AI & ML, Data Science | 2 years | Employed with 1+ year of relevant technical experience | Weekend and blended; fees not listed |
| IIT Delhi (in person) | Part-time M.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering | 6 semesters, against 4 full-time | Employed in a CS-related job for 1+ year, living and working within 50 km of IIT Delhi; employer NOC | Classes on campus in weekday morning slots, not remote; same fees as full-time |
| IIT Bombay (in person) | Continuing education courses from the regular M.Tech, not a degree on their own | One semester per course; 40 credits (about 7 courses) needed to apply for M.Tech | Instructor and HOD consent; CPI 6.5 over the 40 credits to apply for M.Tech admission in the sponsored category | Classes at the Powai campus, ideally 5 to 8 pm; INR 11,800 per course |
A note on IIT Delhi and IIT Bombay: neither offers an online or WILP-style M.Tech. IIT Delhi runs a regular part-time M.Tech in CSE on campus in weekday morning slots, for people who work and live within 50 km. IIT Bombay lets working professionals take its M.Tech courses in the evening at Powai and then apply for the sponsored M.Tech. They suit working professionals who live near the campus. The IIT and IISc programmes above are executive, sponsored or online formats and cost far more than the private universities. Details and approval claims are as stated on each page, so verify UGC and AICTE status before applying. This list is not exhaustive: we kept only institutes with an official programme page we could open. IIT Delhi’s other departments may run part-time M.Tech programmes that we did not find.
MBA
For MBA options for working professionals, including online and executive MBAs, see our guide to Online MBA for working professionals.
Reminder: If you are a working professional considering WILP or online degree, you can book a 1:1 free counselling session at no cost to clear all your doubts.
Frequently Asked Questions
BITS WILP kya sach mein UGC approved hai?
Yes. BITS publishes UGC’s approval of the continued offering of WILP, from UGC’s 548th meeting on 9 September 2020, on its UGC approval page. Verify the latest status with BITS before applying.
Kya main job karte hue BITS WILP kar sakta hoon?
Yes, that is the design. You must be employed, and classes are held in the evenings and on weekends. You also need mentor and employer consent.
Exams online hote hain ya offline?
Both. Continuous assessment such as quizzes and lab assignments is taken online. The mid-semester and end-semester exams are in person at BITS exam centres. Learners abroad may be able to take them online in some cases.
Kitni fees lagti hai?
It depends on the programme. Totals run from about INR 1.65 lakh for most PG diplomas to INR 5.2-5.35 lakh for B.Tech. M.Tech and MBA mostly cost about INR 3.12-3.34 lakh. Two programmes cost more: M.Tech in Software and Tech Leadership (INR 5.2 lakh) and MBA in Finance (INR 3.86 lakh). Fees are paid per semester.
Kya EMI ka option hai?
Yes. BITS mentions a 0% interest EMI option on its programme pages.
Admission kitne time mein confirm hota hai?
The admissions cell usually responds within 2-3 weeks of a complete application.
Abhi kaun sa batch open hai?
The January 2027 batch is open for the MBA programmes, most M.Tech programmes and several B.Tech and PG diploma programmes. Programmes marked “Admissions open soon” have no intake date yet, so check the programme page.
Kya BITS WILP online degree hai ya distance degree?
BITS positions WILP as work-integrated learning with live sessions, in-person exams and a campus immersion, not as a distance programme. If this matters for your employer or a government job, ask BITS for written confirmation and check the requirements of the body you are applying to.
Kya WILP ka degree regular degree ke barabar hota hai?
The degree is awarded by BITS Pilani. Whether an employer or recruiter treats it as equal to a regular degree is their decision, so ask them directly if you have a specific role in mind.
Conclusion
BITS WILP suits working professionals who want a UGC-approved BITS Pilani degree without leaving their job, and who can commit to evening and weekend study plus in-person exams. Check the eligibility on your programme’s page, confirm the current fee and intake, and ask BITS directly for anything an employer may need in writing.
Disclaimer: This article reflects publicly available information as of October 2026. Fees, eligibility and approvals change, so confirm with BITS Pilani WILP, the UGC and the institution concerned before applying.

Sarvesh is the Founder of Internshala, India’s leading early talent development platform that has helped millions of students and early-career professionals land their first opportunity. With over 15 years of building at the intersection of education and employment, Sarvesh has been at the forefront of shaping how India’s next generation enters the workforce and shares his insights and knowledge through this blog. All his free time is either spent playing with his twin boys or watching whatever is trending on OTT platforms.